The First Death

Had To Happen Sometime

https://zkillboard.com/kill/61620590/

So it happened, my first death in the wormhole.

I was attempting to roll our C3 static (I’ll go in depth on rolling in other post). I  brought out the Armageddon built for this purpose and dove in for the first of two round trips and found a Bhaalgorn waiting on the other side. I stayed cloaked for a few minutes to weigh my options, then decided my best course of action was to strike first while attempting to slow boat to the hole.

I clicked approached, locked onto the Bhaalgorn, then turned on all my neuts and the burst jammer. I wasn’t able to activate my MWD as he had me scrammed, although I was able to pulse it at times due to the burst jammer causing him to lose his lock periodically. Around this time I noticed a Buzzard come through the hole; I can only guess that he was the one that scouted me approaching the other side and alerted his Bhaalgorn buddy.

I made it to within 2,000 meters of jump range and was about halfway into armor when a Stilleto showed up and locked me down completely. The Bhaalgorn’s nosferatus had drained my capacitor completely, so I could do nothing but watch as they took me down the rest of the way. Right as my Armageddon popped, a Sabre was nice enough to show up and bubble my pod, so that was toast as well.

Now what mistakes did I make? First and most embarrassing, I completely forgot to deploy any drones. My T2 medium drones could have gotten the Buzzard and his scram off of me at the very least, and I also had ECM drones I could have used on the Bhaalgorn. Second, I should have scouted the other side of the new C3 before committing an Armageddon. I had no idea how active it was or what was on the other side. Third, I did this very late at night with no corp mates on for backup. All that combined made this a recipe for disaster, but a learning experience just the same.

I messaged the Bhaalgorn pilot afterwards and he was nice enough to give me his fit. It looked like this:

[Bhaalgorn, Bhaalgorn]

Damage Control II
Shadow Serpentis Large Armor Repairer
Shadow Serpentis Large Armor Repairer
Shadow Serpentis Energized Adaptive Nano Membrane
Shadow Serpentis Energized Adaptive Nano Membrane
Large Ancillary Armor Repairer
Heat Sink II

Heavy Electrochemical Capacitor Booster I
Warp Disruptor II
500MN Quad LiF Restrained Microwarpdrive
Stasis Webifier II
Stasis Webifier II

Dark Blood Heavy Energy Nosferatu
Mega Pulse Laser II
Mega Pulse Laser II
Mega Pulse Laser II
Mega Pulse Laser II
True Sansha Medium Energy Nosferatu
Medium Ghoul Compact Energy Nosferatu

Large Nanobot Accelerator I
Large Auxiliary Nano Pump I
Large Auxiliary Nano Pump I

Hobgoblin II x5
Hornet EC-300 x5
Caldari Navy Wasp x4

Conflagration L x8
Scorch L x8
Imperial Navy Multifrequency L x8
Nanite Repair Paste x364

Well that’s the story of my first wormhole death. Do you have any other tips for me? Be sure to leave a comment below!

Fly safe,

Griff

Leave a Reply

